Short History

From the Mediterranean Handball Association…

On the 12th June 1999 in Cairo, Egypt, the Mediterranean Handball Association has been established among the following countries: Algeria, Cyprus, Egypt, Greece, Italy, Libya, Morocco, Portugal, Syria, Tunisia, Turkey and Yugoslavia. The Presidency was assigned to Dr. Hassan Moustafa and the Vice – Presidency to Francesco Purromuto.

…to the Mediterranean Handball Confederation

On the 22nd February 2003, in Rome (Italy), the Mediterranean Handball Association decided to change the original name into “Mediterranean Handball Confederation” and an Executive Committee was elected Francesco Purromuto ITA (President), Rui Coelho POR, Jaume Conejero ESP, Jean Férignac FRA, Taoufik Khouaja TUN and Charalambos Lottas CYP, having the task to perform all the necessary acts to summon the Congress for the approval of the MHC Rules of procedure, for the election of the Statutory bodies.

The 1st Congress , held on 28th and 29th February 2004 in Castelo Branco (Portugal), elected as President Francesco Purromuto (ITA). The following countries participate as foundation members: Albania, Cyprus, Egypt, France, Greece, Israel, Libya, Malta, Portugal, Serbia-Montenegro, Slovenia, Spain, Tunisia, Turkey. Each year, the Mediterranean Handball Confederation organises the Mediterranean Handball Championship on different dates for men and women. These competitions are preferably reserved to young athletes.